Weekends

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office is closed every Saturday and Sunday.

Our office likewise operates on a weekday schedule, and over the coming calendar year will also be closed each Saturday and Sunday.

National Holidays in Canada

In 2017, the Canadian Intellectual Property Office and our Offices will be closed for the following Canadian National holidays:

New Year’s Day 2017: Monday, January 2, 2017 (extended)
Good Friday: Friday, April 14, 2017
Victoria Day: Monday, May 22, 2017
Canada Day: Monday, July 3, 2017 (extended)
Labour Day: Monday, September 4, 2017
Thanksgiving Day: Monday, October 9, 2017
Christmas Day: Monday, December 25, 2017
Boxing Day: Tuesday, December 26, 2017
New Year’s Day: Monday, January 1, 2018

Provincial Holidays

(i) Quebec Holidays

In addition to National holidays, the main office of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office will be closed for Easter Monday on April 17, 2017; for St. Jean Baptiste Day on Monday, June 26, 2017 (extended), and for Remembrance Day on Monday, November 13, 2017 (extended).

Our office will be open on, each of, Monday, April 17, 2017; Monday, June 26, 2017; and Monday, November 13, 2017.

(ii) Ontario Holidays

Our office will be closed on the following Ontario Provincial holidays:

Ontario Family Day: Monday, February 20, 2017
Civic Holiday: Monday, August 7, 2017

Extensions of Due Dates

(i) Patents and Trademarks

Any due dates to file new national patent, PCT patent or Trademark applications which fall on either a Saturday or Sunday, or any of above-mentioned National or Provincial holidays, are extended to the next day on which the Canadian Intellectual Property Office is open for business.

Any due dates falling on Monday, February 20, 2017 and Monday, August 7, 2017, may be extended to the following Tuesday by our Firm filing the necessary application/response papers through the Toronto Regional Office of CIPO.

(ii) Industrial Designs

Any due dates to file a new industrial design application falling on Sunday, or any of the above-noted National or Provincial holidays where Canadian Intellectual Property Office is closed, will be extended to the next business day when the Canadian Intellectual Property Office is open for business.

Any due dates falling on Monday, February 20, 2017 and Monday, August 7, 2017, may be extended to the following Tuesday by our Firm filing the necessary application/response papers through the Toronto Regional Office of CIPO.

Please note, due dates for design applications which fall on Saturdays which are not also a National or Provincial holiday are not extended.

footerTymetrix
Serengeti Law E-billing Certified
footerPassport
footerCorridor
footerCollaborati